Savary Island Land Trust Society
  SILTS Home         ::         DL 1375 (The Heart of the Island)         ::         Latest News         ::         Newsletters

  Join us on Facebook Join us on Facebook

  Donate Now Through!


Who We Are

SILT is a non-profit registered charity with over 325 members. SILT is dedicated to the preservation of natural areas and biological diversity on Savary island now and forever. We believe in clean water, wildlife, wilderness and access to greenspace. Through generous donations, SILT has received ten gifts of land (14 acres) on Savary Island.

SILT was established in 1997, when the dream to preserve the last undivided and undeveloped wilderness on Savary (DL1375) was born. The land was under threat of subdivision and development as a 90 unit gated community by Bellingham developers. Research determined that the land contained rare and endangered plants and plant communities and was one of the best examples of intact coastal dune ecology in Canada, in fact a national treasure. SILT began to look for ways to preserve the land and worked with Federal and Provincial governments to secure resources to purchase it. In 2000, SILT approached the Nature Trust of BC for assistance and in 2002, the Nature Trust of BC, the Province of BC, the Government of Canada and private donors made possible the purchase of a 50% undivided interest in DL 1375 and title to 13 adjoining parcels.

Since 2002, the Nature Trust of BC has tried to purchase the remaining 50% interest from developer Mr. Roger Sahlin in order to preserve this Savary treasure forever. Recently Mr. Sahlin took the Nature Trust to court under the Partition Act and a decision subdividing the land was made in February 2010. In April 2010, the Nature Trust of BC and SILT joined forces to appeal the court decision and save the last Savary wilderness.


Executive Information

Executive Director: Liz Webster M.A.
Box 141 Lund BC, V0N 2G0
Savary Phone: (604) 483-4743
Powell River Phone: (604) 414-0073

Chairman: Dr. Thea Cacchioni Ph.D.
Vice Chair: Paul Leighton
Treasurer: Jonathan McKinney BCom, CA, CIM
Secretary: Jennifer Greenwood


Carmen Cadrin
Maegen Giltrow
Christopher Harvey
Tom Lightburn
Melissa Noel
Lenore Rowntree
Wynn Woodward