CFL and Its Teams – The Basics

If you are new to the world of CFL, you might find that it is not as complicated as it seems and that it is all rather easy fun and sports. At SILTS we would like to explain to you a bit about the CFL and tell you a few facts on the teams that are a part of it.


CFL stands for Canadian Football League and is called LCF by the French-Canadians, which stands for Ligue Canadienne de Football. It is the professional league for Canadian football and its regular season is played over 21 weeks, with 18 games taking place between June and November.

CFL and Its Teams – The Basics 1 - CFL and Its Teams – The Basics

The Teams

The league has 9 teams divided into West Division and East Division, all belonging to Canadian cities. The West Division has BC Lions, Calgary Stampeders, Edmonton Football Team, Saskatchewan Roughriders, Winnipeg Blue Bombers, for a total of 5 teams.

The Four teams in the East Division are Hamilton Tiger-Cats, Montreal Alouettes, Ottawa Redblacks, and Toronto Argonauts.

The Grey Cup

If you are familiar with the Super Bowl, you understand how important the Grey Cup is, for the CFL. It is the main event for the sport and one that, despite not being mainstream big, is close to the hearts of all Canadian football fans. The event is over 100 years old and it precedes the NFL by over 50 years.

These are the basics on the CFL as we know it today, a small league with a lot of power in its athletes and few teams that make history with every game. We hope that you feel encouraged to follow the games and support the sport while you enjoy yourself.