Rugby – Where was Rugby coming from? (All that you need to know about the CFL) (Part 1)

Rugby is a competitive sport composed of two teams playing rugby grass game, which was played in English schools in the 19th century. The Rugby League consists of two forms, the Rugby League and the Rugby Union. 

In Rugby Union, each team will have 15 people, a ball of 382-425 grams, made of leather and a football field of 95-100 meters in length and 65-68 meters in width. At the end of the field, there is a 3.5-6.1 m long, 5.65 m wide, 3 m high crossbar. The goal of the game is to take the ball to the backyard to line the goal or shoot the ball hits the opponent’s goal to score points.

When the ball is sent behind the line 5 points will be counted and the player will then have the additional right to kick the ball on the crossbar and earn 2 more points. Whether kicking the ball (direct kick or free kick) misses the target above the bar, three points will be counted. 

Each team has 13 members in the Rugby League, playing ball and pitching like Union. However the Rugby League only requires 6 players to lose points. If the player has not scored six times, the ball is passed. In comparison, kicking the direct bar will only get 1 instead of 3 as Union, and the free kick will get 2 points. Putting the ball down the pitch would give you a 4 and a 2-point chance instead of a 5 and a 2-point chance.

119 300x216 - Rugby - Where was Rugby coming from? (All that you need to know about the CFL) (Part 1)

Rugby was born in Rugby, Warwickshire, England, 1823

The International Amateur Rugby Federation (FIRA in French Federation Internationale de Rugby Amateur, English name Association of European Rugby) was founded in 1934. FIRA, an informal world championship, has been held since 1960. 

Rugby is common in many countries, including: Argentina, Australia, England, France, Ireland, New Zealand, Scotland, South Africa, Wales, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Fiji, Georgia, Japan, Namibia, Portugal. Romania, Samoa, Spain, Tonga, the United States of America and Uruguay.